Dream Journal: Entry 1, the Nature of Dreams

Artis of featured image: Bobrova

the Spirit that Moves Me

Dreams tell us many things about our lives, who we are, and our present situation. Dreams even warn of us of possible danger or toxic relationships. If someone is able to decode some symbol in a dream, they may be able to use it in their own lives to help themselves or others.

This is the first entry of my Dream Journal, where I will make connections of the inner workings of my mind, and how it relates to me and the world around me. Along with my dream entries I will past quotes, tid-bits of information, based of the works of C.G. Jung in relation to dream analysis and significance of dreams in our lives.

Stay tuned.

Found in Jung’s Collective Works, 3rd edition:

Nature of Dreams

“Dreams contain images and thought associations which we can’t create with conscious intent. They come randomly and are representatives of psychic activity. Interpreting these images helps identify transferences and conquer them.

“The universal problem of evil and good is another aspect of impersonal relations to the world, which produces collective compensations. People who go illegitimately “mooning after the infinite” often have absurdly [commonplace] dreams which endeavor to damper down their [vitality]. From the nature of compensations, we can at once draw conclusions as to the seriousness and rightness of the conscious strivings.”

Beginning of Dream Journal, early 2010

“First dream I remember: [My youngest brother and 2 of his best friends, including Blank] were in it. I was at my house, though it didn’t look like my house. : [My youngest brother and 2 of his best friends, including Blank] were on the computer playing [online game]. The graphics were creepy and crappy. They also were bloody. Once : [My youngest brother and 2 of his best friends, including Blank] were off I got on and started playing [online game]. I don’t know how to play it, but somehow in the dream I did. : [My youngest brother and 2 of his best friends, including Blank] came in to watch me”

Written: February, 9th 2o1o

***Blank was mentioned a few times in my journal entries. What this dream means or symbolizes is yet to be determined. Maybe, as I post my dreams, connections will be made.

4 thoughts on “Dream Journal: Entry 1, the Nature of Dreams

Leave a Reply

