Dream Journal 9: Knowledge of the Collective Unconscious

Collective works – Jung

True, the unconscious knows more than the consciousness does; but it is knowledge of a special sort, knowledge in eternity, usually without reference to the here and now, not couched in language of the intellect. Only when we let its statements amplify themselves, [e.g. numeral sequences], does it come within the range of our understanding; only then does a new aspect become perceptible to us. This process is convincingly repeated in every successful dream analysis. That is why it is so important not to have any preconceived, doctrinaire opinions about the statements made by dreams. As soon as a certain “monotony of interpretation” strikes us, we know that our approach has become doctrinaire and hence sterile.” [dreams]

7.28.2011

A dream I am recalling now was one I had say… 5 years ago, I don’t know, I just know it was before we moved here to this house. It took place at night, I am unsure how it began, I just know it had star wars characters, maybe because I had recently watched the new star wars movie. My younger brother and I were the only ones home, he was helping me fight the clones inside, battles were going on outback as well. Soon I was in my kitchen fighting Darth Vator, but at some point I made it into the laundry room, feeling I was losing the battle, but then I was no longer fighting darth vator. It was now a man with short spiked hair in a white shirt and black jeans. I felt he was going to rape and kill me. But no rape happened, thankfully, but he stabled me twice in the chest with a butcher’s knife. I felt the prick of the 2 stabs. Before the 3rd hit I woke up.

Leave a Reply

