Willow Rose: Chapter 3

Hildgo coughs harshly as he walks up the snow packed path that leads to his mountain home, while securing the cloak around his core tightly, tucking his face within its collar, attempting to protect himself from the wind that is blowing. His mouth fills with mucus he knows is the color green and gray, mixed with the smokey ash of the mines he works in during the winter time. This cough is worse than last years. He spits the mucus out and watches it immediately freeze as it lands upon the frozen ground. His legs are stiff as he walks, and his joints pulse with pain at each step. He knows this will be his last winter he can support his family in the mines.

He enters the hearth of his home, and closes his eyes in silent thanks to the warmth the lit stone fire pit in the center of the room provides. His wife is knelt beside it, adding vegetables to a pot of stew over the fire. He nods in greeting to her, she nods back, then he asks, “Where is our Willow?”

“Exploring in the snow filled forest, you may go find her,” his wife responds as she cuts up the last winter vegetable to add to the water.

Hildgo goes to the back door and leaves without further word to his wife. He knows the path to walk to find his child, for it is a well walked one since before her birth.

He walks slow, but steady, for 30 minutes. The walk would take a young soul only around 15, but he is no longer young in physique.

He stops along the lake, and a few feet before him is his love, his soul: The Willow. Beneath the Willow tree is his soul companion, his Willow Rose. His pain grimace on his face fades into a soft smile as he catches his daughter’s image, who is gazing up between the bare branches of the Willow, lost in her daydreams.

He walks to her and stops in front of her. His voice is gentle but stern as he speaks to her.

“My child, you must learn a trade. You must become independent, you do not know when your mother and I may pass.”

“I am waiting, my father, for my love to meet me, beneath this willow tree,” responds the young adult child, whose eyes twinkle with the light of distant thought as they continue to gaze between the branches of the willow.

Her father smiles a knowing smile to his only beloved child. He hides the pain he feels in his lungs and joints, for the love he has for his Willow Rose covers the sting of physical pain. He repeats his words, knowing the more they are repeated, the more likely they will be followed.

“My child, you must learn a trade. You must become independent, you do not know when your mother and I may pass.”

But again she responds. “I am waiting, my father, for my love to meet me, beneath this willow tree,” with eyes still twinkling with the light of distant thought as they continue to gaze between the branches of the willow.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Willow Rose, a character I had in a game called Renaissance Kingdoms. The game has three ‘kingdoms’ connected to the renaissance era: Europe, Japan, and Aztec. This character is Japanese, from Shogun Kingdoms. I connected the main role plays I had there, gathered them into a document, and a collection of tales were created. This is, Chapter one, of Willow Rose, an imaginative piece of me, who kept me sane in years of confusion (February 2007 to August 2016). I Have edit the post only a little, you may take note as I post the chapters, the improvement of my writing style. Stay tuned for more throughout the year, one chapter per month. Enjoy. Further tales will include my other characters, Arial de Grey and High Priestess.

Leave a Reply

